UK Research and Innovation brings together the seven Research Councils, Innovate UK and Research England. We work to ensure the UK maintains its world-leading position in research and innovation. We will do this by creating the best environment for research and innovation to flourish.

Each Council is led by an Executive Chair, supported by a council of between five and 12 members.

The councils have a pivotal role in ensuring the success of UK Research and Innovation, helping us to achieve our strategic objectives to be the single, strong voice of UK research and innovation, and building on our world-leading reputation.

Council members are appointed by the UKRI Board, on the recommendation of the Executive Chair.

The Council members will between them have a broad range of expertise and experience in research and innovation across higher education, industry, commerce, policy and/or civil society and the relevant user communities for each Council, reflecting different characteristics and professional backgrounds. The exact membership will take into account the specific needs of each Council.

In this recruitment round we are looking to appoint members to each of the nine Councils.

Council Executive Chair Appointments

Arts and Humanities Research Council (AHRC)

Professor Andrew Thompson 2

Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council (BBSRC)

Professor Melanie Welham 3

Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC)

Professor Jennifer Rubin 3

Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC)

Professor Lynn Gladden 2

Medical Research Council (MRC)

Professor Fiona Watt 1

Natural Environment Research Council (NERC)

Professor Duncan Wingham 2

Science and Technology Facilities Council

Professor Mark Thomson 2

Innovate UK

Dr Ian Campbell 2
Research England David Sweeney 1

For more information about these Councils, please visit their website in the ‘Further Reading’ section.

UKRI is committed to equality, diversity and inclusion and welcomes applications from all. Applications from women, those with a disability, and members of minority ethnic groups, who are currently under-represented at senior levels in some sectors of the research and innovation community, are therefore especially encouraged.

Members will be appointed for a period of two, three or four years.

To Top